Red Deer and District Chinese Community Society



Back in the 1950s and 1960s, the early Chinese residents in Red Deer, mostly Toi-Shan dialect speakers who had originated from the southern Kwangtung (now Quangdong) Province of China, got together to form the first Chinese Community Association. The Association’s main activities were based on a strong “benevolence” mandate of providing assistance and support to fellow Chinese in Red Deer. The local Chinese had also participated in the City’s social and cultural activities. With the number of Chinese population grew over the years, plus influx of new immigrants from Hong Kong and south-east Asia, the Chinese elders saw an increasing need of formerly organizing a Chinese community society to properly plan and manage the Association’s financial resources and activities.

At a meeting called in the summer of 1991 for fund-raising for China flood relief, the need of forming a society was also presented and discussed. This in turn set the stage for the “Re-birth” of the Chinese Community Society.

The Society is officially registered as a non-profit organization under the Alberta Society Act in the name of Red Deer & District Chinese Community Society. The Society operates as Chinese Canadian association in the Central Alberta area.

Purpose and Objectives

The Society’s objectives are:

i) to provide Chinese cultural and recreational activities to the Central Alberta

ii) to promote the Chinese culture and traditions;

iii) to act as a liaison between the Chinese and the main stream society in the service communities.

All Society activities shall be for the purposes of promoting fellowship, education of Chinese culture and traditions, and improving the well-being of the Chinese residents in Central Alberta.

The Society shall not participate in any political activities, nor shall it endorse or discourage any religious activities.

The Society shall abide by all applicable government laws, by-laws, and health and safety guidelines.


The Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the affairs of the Society.

Members are volunteers elected to the Board by the general membership.

The Board of Directors shall consist of five to thirteen members: the officers include a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and any other officers as deemed as necessary from time to time by the Board of Directors.


All law-abiding citizens of Chinese descent and their spouses over 18 years of age residing in Central Alberta are eligible for membership. Associate memberships are available to all law- abiding citizens of Central Alberta who are interested in the Chinese culture and traditions. To be a member in good standing, the individuals shall pay the membership fees determined by the Board of Directors and shall observe the Society’s Bylaws.

Leave a Reply